How Brands like Apple Could Be driving Higher ROMI

I recently wrote an article about using call to actions to measure and track the effectiveness of marketing and to report return on marketing investment (ROMI.)

The article mentioned how marketers often omit or poorly market call to actions in their advertising,  this is particularly true in above the line marketing (ATL), such as billboards.

Recently, exiting London’s Trains Station Paddington, I noticed that Apple are running a  campaign to promote their new iPad. In actual fact, I am considering purchasing the new iPad and so this advertising was relevant to me.  They are advertising using billboards, and I have also noticed they’re running TV adverts. Not low cost.

Their advertising covers several billboards beginning from the train station exit to the main road. The imagery is great, however, I noticed they haven’t included clear call to actions on their advertising, if any at all.

“Considering the latest iPad?”

The two disadvantages here are that, firstly, they’ve lost the opportunity to capture my data as a potential customer. They could have promoted an information campaign landing page, with a unique tracking friendly url, which I could have visited as a prospect to find out more. The page could have requested my contact data and wouldn’t it be great if they could have followed up with an email to move me along the buying cycle, enticing my consideration?

They could have promoted their Facebook fan page for the UK market, had I have seen the Facebook page url I could have joined it and they could have kept me engaged and their brand/ products relevant to me with regular updates in my newsfeed.

Secondly, Apple now have no idea that I saw their advertising. Perhaps the security cameras caught me snapping up these billboard adverts with my iPhone, see below! At best I could see the words “Connect from iTunes”.

I do adore Apple’s marketing, after all, what other company can entice consumers to queue for a product? Of course they are doing extremely well as a company and perhaps they have no shortage of marketing budget. I do believe many large organisations could track and measure the results of marketing effectively by using simple call to actions, particularly consumer brands. This would also enable them to build their customer databases and improve customer relationship management (CRM).

It really is as easy as ABC to track the effectiveness of marketing. Using call to actions is a great start!

Image

Image

Image

Categories: Advertising, Budgeting, Global Marketing, ROMI | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

